Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Stephen Brown: Compositions

Piano Concerto

Three movements. 3 flutes, 3 oboes, 3 clarinets, 4 horns, timpani, 4 percussion, strings, piano. (can be performed with 1 flute, 1 oboe, 1 clarinet, 2 horns, timpani, percussion, strings, piano).

"A cracking good concerto with lots of drive and invention!" Robin Wood, Principal Emeritus, Victoria Conservatory of Music.

"A powerful work with many remarkable moments. The emerging strong allegro from the shimmering vibrant opening of the first movement contrasts with the warm string melody and impressionistic colours of the piano in the second movement. The almost barbarous duet between the piano and percussion in the third movement leaves the listener breathless as the piece rushes to an exhilarating climax." Janos Sandor, Permanent Guest Conductor, Hungarian State Opera, Music Director of the University of Victoria Orchestra and Chorus.

World premiere performances:
Friday, May 1, 2009, St. Elizabeth Catholic Church, Sidney, BC
Sunday, May 3, 2009, Alix Goolden Hall, Victoria Conservatory of Music, Victoria, BC
Robert Holliston - piano, Sidney Classical Orchestra, composer - conductor.

Duration: 28 minutes

audio and score
The Red Hot

Score: $30.00.
Parts are rental only. Please contact the composer for the fee.
The rental of orchestral parts is similar to the Boosey and Hawkes rental agreement and prices.

Swan House Victoria SJB 1334B
2 piano reduction of concerto: $25.00