Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Stephen Brown: Compositions

The Northern Journey, a symphony

(1986-1989, 1992, 2018-2019)
A symphony for large orchestra in 4 movements. Inspired by the Northern Ontario landscape and the paintings of it by Tom Thompson and The Group of Seven and dedicated to the Teme-Augama Anishnabai "The People of the Deep Water" of Bear Island, Lake Temagami, Ont. 3 fl (2 dbl picc, 3 dbl alto fl), 3 ob (3 dbl E. hn), 3 cl in B flat (2 dbl E flat, 3 dbl, 3 bn (3 dbl c. bn) 4 hn, 2 tr in B flat, 2 tbn, b. tbn, tba, 2 sets of timp, 5 perc (various instruments), celesta and piano, strings.

Duration: 38 minutes

audio and score
The Northern Journey

Swan House Victoria SJB 1344B
Full score: $60.00.
Parts are rental only. Please contact the composer for the fee.
The rental of orchestral parts is similar to the Boosey and Hawkes rental agreement and prices.