Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Stephen Brown: Compositions

Flute Concerto

"The Rufous-sided Towhee"

audio and score
The Rufous-sided Towhee

Three movements - written for my daughter and named after the bird that winters in the tree outside my kitchen window.

1. Allegro moderato
2. Slowly and freely - piu mosso
3. Allegro molto


2 Oboes
2 Clarinets in Bb
2 Bassoons
4 Horns in F
3 Trumpets in Bb
Percussion - 5 players (many intruments)
2 Harps
Violin I, Violin II, Viola
Violoncelli, Double bass

Duration 34:00

Swan House Victoria SJB 1391
Score and a single set of parts: $100.00
Additional strings: $4.00 each